4:30 a.m.

Here in Georgia, I work for the grocery store chain Publix. I enjoy my job and I look forward to growing with the company. They treat their employees very well, and there are many benefits which can be taken advantage of.

That being said, my particular position requires me to be at work at 4 o’clock in the morning. I am not much of a morning person. I enjoy sleep. I make do because of the enjoyment of my job, and the paycheck. Plus, they employ my husband as well and arrange our shift so we do not need to pay for childcare at the moment.

This particular February mornin  finds me sitting in our parking lot at 430. A.m. The manager has yet to arrive to open the doors so that we may begin working. Normally, would not be much of an issue for me. It actually it still isn’t, however, for the next few weeks I only work from 4 a.m. to 8 a.m. due to a class I need to take. So, being bored, cold, and tired is not exactly how I want to spend my Friday morning.

I will say, that in the back of my head, I hope if the manager is going to be this late, he or she may as well be super late and not come until 5 or later. That’s just me being selfish, I know. But, an hour’s worth of pay for their mistake doesn’t suck all that badly.

I do hope everybody has a much better morning than I, and a fantastic weekend to boot.

Leave a Reply

