Thankful!

Last week, I went in to my OB to have a second glucose challenge test to diagnose Gestational Diabetes.  My first test was ‘abnormal’ they said.  I took that to mean it was a little high for their liking.  I wasn’t surprised, as I am older and a bit heavy for my height.  I think they call mine a ‘Geriatric Pregnancy’.  Can you believe that?  I’m not *that* old!!!  Anyway, that’s besides the point.

Pregnant Girl Eating Cake

Pregnant Girl Eating Cake (Photo credit: o5com)

I had get blood taken, drink a super-sweet orange drink, and then get more blood taken every hour for three hours.  It made for a fun morning, especially since I hadn’t been able to eat since the night before!  I was a little grumpy, but it went by faster with my husband there.  It has been one of the few appointments I have had where he has come with me.

When I left that day, I was told that I would get a call that Friday with the results.  Friday came and went.  Since I had finished the test at about 1 o’clock,  I figured that maybe the samples didn’t get out until later that day, so I would get a call on Monday.  No go.  Then I thought that maybe they weren’t calling because it was normal.  A girl can hope, right?  I mean, I didn’t specifically ask if they would call regardless of the outcome.  So I put it aside.

Today, I couldn’t take it anymore, so I called.  Actually, since I’m a blonde, I couldn’t find my appointment card for this Thursday, so I called to see what time I had to go to the office.  But then I figured I may as well ask about the test.

Turns out that everything is OK and my little baby boy is doing fine and dandy.  I wish they could have called me when they found out, but I’m sure they are very busy.  It’s gotta be a tough job to inform people of bad results.  I don’t envy anyone with that job.

Now, I don’t know too much about Gestational Diabetes, but from the few people I know who have had it, it’s not a good time.  It’s pretty much like regular diabetes where you have to watch what you eat, test your blood every so often and just be super careful about what you do.  I am all for controlling what foods I eat, and I do know I have eaten too much fast food over the past few weeks, but it is a relief to know that I haven’t completely screwed up!  I just need to start taking better care of myself and the baby by eating less crap and more fresh foods.  I just wish that it wasn’t so darned expensive!!!!  Stupid fuel costs!  Luckily, my mother in law is a fruit nut, so we always have some healthy snacks in the house.  I just have get myself to eat them and not crave the mint chocolate chip ice cream I have in the freezer!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
One response »

  1. Well, this brings back memories! I’m glad everything went okay with your test. From what I remember about gestational diabetes, yes, the mom has to be careful about what she eats and how often, etc. like with regular diabetes. It also usually makes for big babies!

    I’ve enjoyed my visit here and I’ll be back! Hopefully things will turn around with your husband. Thanks for visiting my blog, and for your comments too!

Leave a Reply

