Tapping into Entrepreneur-ship

I cannot even say for certain that is a word, but it sounded good!

As I mentioned in my first June post, I want to start my own business.  And now, since I’m currently unemployed and have time on my hands, why not JUMP in??

Entrepreneur Magazine is a subscription I have had for almost a year, if I’m not mistaken.  I got it as a fluke, since I was getting it for free for turning in some airline mile points that were going to expire.  My first thought was that it was going to be ‘uppity’ and geared toward people who already had their own little start-ups.  So, I unfortunately let the first few issues fall by the wayside (ie. the recycling bin).

Boy, was that STUPID!

I finally read a few, and now I’m hooked, especially now that I have this idea bouncing around in my head!  Today, I read another issue, and broke out the copy of NOLO’s “The Woman’s Small Business Start-Up Kit” that I borrowed from the library last week but hadn’t opened.

Just reading the first couple of chapters have made me really happy that I did get it, and that I finally had the desire to start reading it!  Yes, there is a lot of stuff in there that I don’t necessarily need to read at this point, but there are a lot of testimonials and quotes from women out there who have been through the start up process – and who have succeeded!  It gives me a lot of hope for my own little ‘business baby.’

I think that I am going to wake up early, or go to bed really late, and record some ideas and whatnot to keep the excitement fresh!

If you are a woman (or man) out there who has begun their own business – any advice for us newbies?  Little tidbits you wish someone had told *you* in the beginning?  Software or apps you can’t live with out?

 

(Yes, I know *technically* this is my 2nd post for today, but I was so tired yesterday after all my cleaning, that I just couldn’t write.  So, I posted my 2nd and 3rd June posts today.  Which for me, is actually chalked up to a success!)

Leave a Reply

