Shakespeare Sonnet I

 

A sonnet is (from Dictionary.com)

sonnet  (ˈsɒnɪt) — n1.a verse form of Italian origin consisting of 14 lines in iambicpentameter with rhymes arranged according to a fixed scheme,usually divided either into octave and sestet or, in the Englishform, into three quatrains and a couplet

 

I wanted to start with my interpretation of the first of Shakespeare’s sonnets, but I have read it over and over about ten times, and I haven’t the slightest idea as to what it means.

At first, I thought it was about beauty and vanity.  But as I kept on reading, I then thought that maybe it’s about jealousy and selfishness.

 

“Feed’st thy light’s flame with self-substantial fuel,

Making a famine where abundance lies.”

To me, that comes across as someone being rather greedy…  I could be wrong, but that’s how I read it.  I am going to keep reading it, see if there is something else that jumps out at me.  So far, it’s slow going.  But I did realize a couple of things!  I am going to learn a lot about poetry and Shakespeare this month, and it’s going to be a tougher subject to tackle than originally thought.

 

 

 


Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

